Osimo

USEFUL NUMBERS

IATOSIMO

Via Fonte Magna, 12 - 60027 Osimo (AN)

tel: 071 7236088

What to know about Osimo

Osimo, town of Marche of great historical value, nestled on the hills adjacent to the Riviera del Conero behind Ancona on the crest of the hills that separate the river valleys I look forward e Curmudgeon.

Osimo is an important stage for anyone who wants to feed on modern arthistory and e culture of the Marche.

Osimo is the breath and the respite from sea of the neighbor Riviera del Conero, a dip in the past and in the mysteries of a town full of charm and art treasures.

Exclusive and sarcastic the name attributed to the inhabitants of Osimo: the headless. This name takes up the theme of the beheaded heads present in Town Hall of Osimo. Roman works, which mark one of the important moments of this center.

Osimo has ancient origins, and by visiting it you will realize its historical importance, as there are traces of the past everywhere!

Its foundation dates back to the sixth century. BC thanks to Greek-Sicilian settlers who had already settled on the Adriatic coast to found the older sister Ancona.
Auximum was its name in Roman times, and it was a very important center, site of the famous battle between the Romans and the Goths.

The municipal experience began after 1100 and on the one hand favored economic prosperity and the creation of important statutes for the city of Osimo: a dispute between the Malatesta family and the Papal States.

Osimo today it is a splendid inevitable jewel in the itinerary of the tourist enthusiast ancient history.

Among the places of interest is the Cathedral of San Leopardo, set on a hill in the Old Town, is an excellent example of Romanesque style, the portal and the sculptures of the facades in Gothic style surprise: it would seem that the sculptor of this mysterious church in the Marche, had the intention of leaving an encrypted message on its walls. There original structure of Cathedral of San Leopardo of Osimo, built at the turn of the twelfth and thirteenth century. it has undergone several changes over the centuries but has never lost its ancient austerity. We still see it today from the outside of the monument, enriched by the large rose window and the precious stone portals. Inside, the three naves are majestic. The crypt is also worth a visit. Built in 1191 by Mastro Filippo, the crypt of the Cathedral of San Leopardo houses the sarcophagi with the relics of the first martyrs and the holy bishops of Osimani.

Il Town Hall of the year 1500 presents an entrance hall where there are the famous 12 headless statues found in the area of ​​the Roman Forum responsible for that historical nickname given to the Osimani.

Mysterious the Underground Caves of Osimo: with expert guides they can be visited at various times of the day, in order to discover ancient symbols and customs of those who lived in these dark ravines of the earth in various periods of history.

Travel tips

Town Hall

Superb the building overlooking the Town Hall Square: a façade in red brick, the three floors with windows framed with stone elements by the Macerata artist Pompeo Floriani. The building dates back to 1457 when a resolution speaks of a new headquarters but it will be necessary to wait until 1678 to see the completion of the work.

Near the palace you can admire the civic tower, dating back to 1366, while towards Boccolino Square, you will find the last part of the building. The interiors of the Palazzo Comunale are wonderful, where, moreover, pieces of artillery from the wars of Quattrocento and  World War I.

Cathedral of San Leopardo

Among the places of interest is the Cathedral of San Leopardo, set on a hill in the Old Town, is an excellent example of Romanesque style, the portal and the sculptures of the facades in Gothic style surprise: it would seem that the sculptor of this mysterious church in the Marche, had the intention of leaving an encrypted message on its walls. There original structure of Cathedral of San Leopardo of Osimo, built at the turn of the twelfth and thirteenth century. it has undergone several changes over the centuries but has never lost its ancient austerity. We still see it today from the outside of the monument, enriched by the large rose window and the precious stone portals. Inside, the three naves are majestic. The crypt is also worth a visit. Built in 1191 by Mastro Filippo, the crypt of the Cathedral of San Leopardo houses the sarcophagi with the relics of the first martyrs and the holy bishops of Osimani.

HERE find the card of the Cathedral of Osimo.

La Nuova Fenice Theater

One of the jewels that Osimo hosts is its theater. The theater has undergone numerous renovations and reconstructions. The old theater, built between 1773 and 1787 on a project by Cosimo Morelli, it had a bell-shaped plan and four tiers of boxes. Each of these boxes were characterized by the splendid balcony balustrades, the attention to detail was entrusted to the likes of Vincenzo Mazza, Giovanni Battista Bunelli and Melchiorre Jelli.

In those years the Theater became one of the reference points for the cultural life of the country and beyond. Almost a century after its construction, however, the Osimo theater was declared uninhabitable and it was demolished in 1885. The cultural ferment that the Marche town lived at the time and the importance that the town now held did not wait long for the reconstruction of a new theater, which will become what we can still admire today. In 1887 the works led by the architect began Gaetano Canedi, the reconstruction follows the project of the old theater and the decorations were entrusted to Giovanni Diana, Fernardo Torchi ed Alfonso Goldini.

The latter was a famous artist who created the spectacular curtain that is now kept in the theater itself. A unique work that embellishes the place even more, a piece of history that was made towards the end of the 800th century. The day the curtain was unrolled is now part of the collective memory of the town. A curtain that has much more than a meaning for the local citizens especially during and after the Second World War.

Osimo it preserves in the subsoil a series of tunnels, passages and underground rooms on several levels, connected both together and vertically through wells or chimneys. The caves of Osimo they are an underground world that connects the main buildings, like Campana PalaceRiccioniSimonetti e Gallo Palace, expanding throughout the city.

Within the caves it is possible to see various bas-relief representations of a religious nature kept inside the Cantinone Caves. There are also symbols linked to the presence of the Knights Templar and the Order of Malta, such as the "triple belt" and the eight-pointed cross, visible inside the Simonetti Caves.

They have been well surveyed 88 caves and niches that extend well 9000 meters. As evidenced by the few documents found, the caves were built and used by the Knights of Malta and the Templars to carry out the initiations of the order. The visit to the cave lasts about 40/45 minutes. It is recommended to wear a sweatshirt or sweater as the temperature is around 12/13 degrees constant.

Leaving the caves you will find a book shop where you can buy books, guides, hats, sweaters, sweatshirts, small metal or crystal statues, beach slippers, key rings, pens, etc.

The Church of San Filippo del Piano in Osimo

THU find a card for the Church of San Filippo del Piano

How to get to Osimo

From the North: Take the A14 motorway towards Ancona, exit at Ancona Sud / Osimo, turn onto the SS 16 towards Pescara, continue following the signs for Osimo. From the South: Take the A14 motorway towards Naples, exit at Loreto / Porto Recanati, turn onto the SP 77 and then onto the SS 16 towards Ancona, cross Loreto Stazione and follow the signs for Osimo.

It is advisable to reach Ancona railway station and continue with regional trains to Osimo station.

Conerobus bus lines (www.conerobus.it/)

Ancona-Falconara Airport 24 Km from Osimo.

Accomodation